Click here to go to your default homepage.
Click here to go to your default homepage.
Click here to go to your default homepage.
Front page and index
About The Coalition
Why Do Abusers Batter?
Barriers To Leaving
The Effects on Children
Teen Dating Violence
The Facts about DV
How can I help my friend?
PFAs & DV laws
Links to online DV sources
Plan for your safety
A map of Alabama shelters
Victims Stories
Alabama Domestic Violence Laws
PFA, Overview | PFA FAQs | PFA Form | AL DV Laws | Legal Services | Legislative Agenda

ALABAMA DOMESTIC VIOLENCE CRIMINAL LAWS

Domestic Violence First Degree {See 13A-6-130 Ala. Code 1975}
  1. Commits Assault 1 (13A-6-20) AND has qualified relationship with the victim.
  2. Qualified relationship is a current or former spouse, current or former household member, child, parent, have child in common, or involved in dating/engagement relationship with offender.
  3. Class A Felony
Domestic Violence Second Degree {See 13A-6-131 Ala. Code 1975}
  1. Commits Assault 2 (13A-6-21) AND has qualified relationship with victim.
  2. Class B felony
Domestic Violence Third Degree {See 13A-6-132 Ala. Code 1975}
  1. Commits Assault 3 (13A-6-22), Menacing (13A-6-23), Reckless Endangerment (13A-6-24), Criminal Coercion (13A-6-25), Harassment {13A-11-8(a)}, AND has qualified relationship with victim.
  2. Class A Misdemeanor
Protection Order Violations {See 30-5-9 & 30-5A-3, 4 Ala. Code 1975}
  • A willful violation of a protection order is a Class A misdemeanor and the officer may arrest without a warrant.
Warrantless Arrest {See 15-10-3 (8) Ala. Code 1975}
  • When an offense involves domestic violence and the arrest is based on probable cause regardless of whether the offense is a felony or misdemeanor, an officer may arrest a person without a warrant.
Holding Period Required Before Release {See 15-13-190 Ala. Code 1975}
  • Offender may not be admitted to bail until after an appearance before a judge or magistrate within 12 hours of the arrest and if the person is not taken before a judge or magistrate within 12 hours, he or she shall be released on bail. Prior to the release of the person, the judge or magistrate shall review the facts of the arrest to determine whether the person is a threat to the alleged victim, is a threat to public safety, and is reasonably likely to appear in court.
Primary Aggressor Determination {See 13A-6-134 Ala. Code 1975}
  • If law enforcement officer receives complaints from two parties, the officer shall evaluate each complaint separately to determine who was the primary aggressor and need not arrest the other person alleged to have committed domestic violence. The officer shall consider: prior complaints, relative injuries, likelihood of future injuries, and who may have acted in self-defense.


If you are in crisis and need assistance, please call the 24 hour, 7 day-a-week hotline number 1-800-650-6522
Click here to go to your default homepage.Click here to go to your default homepage.Click here to go to your default homepage.

Legal Resources
Shelters
County Courthouses
Administrative Office of Courts


Click here to go to your default homepage.Click here to go to your default homepage.Click here to go to your default homepage.
Click here to go to your default homepage. Click here to go to your default homepage. Click here to go to your default homepage.
Top | Home | About | Abusers | Barriers | Children | Dating | Facts | Friends | Legal | Links | Safety | Shelters | Stories